USC Shoah Foundation. The Institute for Visual History and Education

While filming “Schindlers List” in Krakow (Poland) survivors had voiced their desire to talk about their memories in front of a camera. Inspired by this, the film’s director Steven Spielberg initiated a project to document testimonies of the Holocaust. To accomplish this, he started the non-profit “Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation” (Shoah Foundation) in 1994. The foundation’s task was to videotape survivors’ stories to make them available for educational purposes for later generations. 

Goal: documenting memory

The USC Shoah Foundation aimed to videotape, catalogue and index approximately 50.000 interviews with survivors of the Holocaust. The declared goal was to document as many personal accounts of witnesses of the Holocaust as possible. Between 1994 and 1999 the organization videotaped 52.000 testimonies in 56 countries and 32 languages.

Importance: Largest archive of its kind in the world

Most of the interviewees are Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. However, other victims of persecution such as Sinti and Roma, politically persecuted, homosexuals, Jehova’s Witnesses and survivors of the nazi eugenic-programme had been interviewed as well. Furthermore, rescuers and aid providers, liberators and liberation witnesses as well as war crimes trials participants had also been amongst the interviewees. Between 2000 and 2006 the USC Shoah Foundation had digitized, catalogued and indexed the collected materials (approximately 120,000 hours of film ) and made it available in the Visual History Archive. In this way, the world’s largest collection of interviews about the National Socialism and the Holocaust has been created.

Approach: Education by spreading memory

In 2006 the Shoah Foundation became a part of the University of Southern California (USC). There the USC Shoah Foundation. The Institute for Visual History and Education was founded. After finishing the interviewing process and the archiving the main focus of the Shoah Foundation Institute is on the distribution of the material for research and education purposes. The organization follows an educational approach: It is assumed that telling stories represents essential and effective means to pass on memory and to sensitize for tolerance. The goal is to preserve the memory of survivors and make it accessible for later generations. During the last years many materials and programs with a pedagogic approach have been developed and distributed.

New collections: Interviews with survivors of other genocides

Meanwhile, the Visual History Archive is being expanded to include collections of interviews with survivors of other genocides. Since 2014, it includes a collection of 64 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi genocide. The interviews were conducted in the USA and in Rwanda in English and Kinyarwanda and are a result of a cooperation with the Kigali Genocide Memorial. Since February 2014, the archive includes also 12 interviews with survivors of the Nanjing Massacre of 1937/38. These interviews were conducted in Nanjing/China in Mandarin and are the result of a cooperation with the Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall. By April 2015, the USC Shoah Foundation will begin to integrate the collection of interviews conducted by Dr. J. Michael Hagopian with survivors and witnesses of the Armenian Genocide into the Visual History Archive.

Full access: The archive at the Freie Universität Berlin

The USC Shoah Foundation cooperates with approximately 50 selected institutions worldwide, which offer a full access to the archive. Thanks to the cooperation with Freie Universität Berlin, since 2006, students, faculties and researchers at Freie Universität have the opportunity to easily and effectively access the testimonies of the Visual History Archive. 

Website of the USC Shoah Foundation

DE | EN
Drucken (Miniaturbild)

Die USC Shoah Foundation. The Institute for Visual History and Education

Während der Dreharbeiten zu "Schindlers Liste" im polnischen Krakau äußerten Überlebende den Wunsch, vor der Kamera über ihre Erinnerungen zu berichten. Angeregt dadurch initiierte der Regisseur Steven Spielberg ein Projekt zur Dokumentation von Zeitzeugenberichten des Holocaust. Dazu rief er im Jahre 1994 die gemeinnützige Organisation "Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation" (Shoah Foundation) ins Leben. Diese sollte die Schilderungen der Überlebenden auf Video aufnehmen, um sie nachfolgenden Generationen als Unterrichts- und Ausbildungsmaterial zugänglich zu machen.

Ziel: Erinnerungen dokumentieren

Die Shoah Foundation setzte es sich zum Ziel, ungefähr 50.000 Interviews mit Überlebenden des Holocaust filmisch aufzuzeichnen, zu katalogisieren und zu archivieren. Erklärte Absicht war es, die persönlichen Erfahrungen möglichst vieler noch lebender Zeugen des Holocaust zu dokumentieren. Von 1994 bis 1999 zeichnete die Organisation an die 52.000 Interviews in 56 Ländern und 32 Sprachen auf.

Bedeutung: weltweit größte Interviewsammlung zum Holocaust 

Die meißten Interviewten sind jüdische Überlebende des Holocaust. Aber auch andere Verfolgte wie Sinti und Roma, Homosexuelle, Zeug(inn)en Jehovas, politisch Verfolgte und Überlebende der Eugenikpolitik wurden interviewt. Des Weiteren wurden auch Interviews mit Retter(innen) und Helfer(innen), Befreier(innen) und Zeug(inn)en der Befreiung sowie Beteiligte an den Kriegsverbrecherprozesse geführt. Zwischen 2000 und 2006 hat die Shoah Foundation das gesammelte Filmmaterial mit einer Gesamtdauer von etwa 120.000 Stunden gesichtet, katalogisiert, indexiert und in dem Visual History Archive für Nutzer(innen) verfügbar gemacht. So ist die weltweit umfangreichste Interviewsammlung zum Nationalsozialismus und Holocaust entstanden.

Ansatz: Aufklären durch Weitergabe von Erinnerung

Im Jahre 2006 wurde die Shoah Foundation Teil der University of Southern California (USC). Dort wurde die USC Shoah Foundation. The Institute for Visual History and Education gegründet. Nach Abschluss der Interviewphase und der Archivierung liegt der Hauptfokus der USC Shoah Foundation inzwischen in der Bereitstellung des gesammelten Materials zu Forschungs- und Lehrzwecken. Dabei verfolgt die Organisation einen aufklärerischen Ansatz: Sie geht davon aus, dass das Erzählen von Geschichten ein grundlegendes und effektives Mittel ist, um Erinnerung weiterzugeben und für Toleranz zu sensibilisieren. Ziel ist es, die Erinnerung der Überlebenden zu bewahren und der Nachwelt zugänglich zu machen. So sind in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche pädagogisch ausgerichtete Programme und Materialien entstanden.

Neue Sammlungen: Interviews mit Überlebenden anderer Genozide

Inzwischen wird das Visual History Archive um Sammlungen von Interviews mit Überlebenden und Zeug(innen) weiterer Genozide erweitert. So enthält es seit 2013 eine Sammlung von 65 Interviews mit Überlebenden des Genozids an den Tutsi in Ruanda 1994. Die Interviews wurden in Kooperation mit dem Kigali Genocide Memorial in den U.S.A. und in Ruanda auf Englisch und Kinyarwanda geführt.
Seit Februar 2014 sind außerdem 12 Interviews mit Überlebenden des Nanjing Massakers 1937/38 im Archiv enthalten. Diese Interviews wurden in Nanjing/China auf Mandarin geführt und sind das Ergebnis einer Kooperation mit der Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall. Im April 2015 wird zudem die Sammlung, der von Dr. J. Michael Hagopian geführten Interviews mit Überlebenden und Zeugen des Genozids in Armenien in das Visual History Archive integriert.

Vollzugriff: Das Archiv an der Freien Universität Berlin

Die USC Shoah Foundation kooperiert mit ungefähr 50 ausgewählten Institutionen weltweit, die einen Vollzugang zu dem Archiv anbieten. Durch die Kooperation mit der Freien Universität Berlin haben seit 2006 Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende an der Freien Universität die Möglichkeit, schnell und gezielt auf die Videografien des Visual History Archive zuzugreifen.